Classes 2015

 

Classes 2015

 

London Glassblowing Studio and Gallery offers the opportunity of a one day introductory class.  These highly popular sessions are designed to teach basic techniques under the tuition of our highly qualified glass artists.  The emphasis of the day is to provide an enjoyable and productive hands-on experience.  We cover all the basics – gathering and shaping the molten glass, blowing and forming.  Through demonstration and close supervision, you will quickly acquire an understanding of the working properties of glass, learn to centre, turn, stretch and control glass in its molten form and gain the confidence to manipulate this extraordinary material in a variety of ways.

Working in teams of three, with one teacher, you will discover different approaches to working with hot glass.  We will explore form, texture, colour and pattern to create a series of solid glass objects as well as blown vessels.  You will learn about the movement, timing and communication needed by the glassmaker to create innovative and challenging pieces.

Previous experience is not necessary.  All you need to bring with you is your curiosity, energy and enthusiasm to make the day an enlightening, engaging and enjoyable one.  Due to health and safety reasons we can only enroll students over the age of 18.

Classes last the whole day, from 9.30 am to 5.30 pm with a break for lunch.  Only six students are enrolled for two experienced tutors, so instruction is intensive and, by all accounts, most enjoyable. 

The cost for the day is £500.00 including VAT, tuition, all materials and the finishing of your pieces.  Also included is a light lunch on the day at a Bermondsey Street restaurant and a £50 voucher to spend on a purchase, to enhance or begin your collection of Peter Layton glass.    

Due to their popularity, our classes often book up between four to six months in advance, so early booking is recommended.  We also offer vouchers for classes to be given as gifts.

Classes are held on Saturdays or Sundays.

 

As of 18/12/2014 we currently have some availability on the following dates. Please email Laura McKinley at classes@londonglassblowing.co.uk with a list of three dates in order of preference and we will let you know the availability, as some dates may have been booked since this page was last updated.

 

Sat 28th Feb

Sat 21st March

Sat 18th April

Sat 25th April

Sat 23rd May

Sat 30th May

Sat 13th June

Sat 27th June

Sat 4th July

Sat 11th July

Sat 1st August 

Sat 8th August

Sat 5th Sept

Sat 26th Sept

Sat 17th Oct

Sat 24th Oct

Sun 7th Nov

Sat 14th Nov

 

London Glassblowing, 62-66 Bermondsey Street, London, SE1 3UD, Tel: 0207 403 2800   

Email: classes@londonglassblowing.co.uk

 

We also offer Class Vouchers if you'd like to buy your loved one a once in a lifetime experience! Click here to learn more and to buy online.

 

  • Visa
  • MasterCard
  • PayPal